My Journey

The Eternal Existential Dilemma!!

Should I or should I not?

I’m talking about the questions, you face about your career, once you discover that you are going to be a mother.

Ours is a mixed marriage. A marriage that happened after much bad blood amongst all the parties involved.

Husband and I, soon after our wedding, set up a little Mom & Pop kind of software startup. We made kickass software but didn’t manage to rake in much moolah, much to our dismay.

Just then, Senior_Junior decided to arrive on the scene almost like a Bharjatiya movie, to soothe the sour relationship between elders.

I bawled and how.

This was not in the life plan. Nonetheless I still coped with stinky poops, dial-up connections, moody animators, dripping with knowledge through toe-nails waale relatives, wobbly belly, very matronly wardrobe, adamant visual basic and erratic sleep patterns of baby, thereby me.

Before this tsunami could settle down and we could breathe, Junior_Junior arrived. Husband meanwhile, had moved on to green bucks and managerial positions in ivy league companies. With two kids, it was too much of a load for me to lug around – this mom and pop show-   So I wound it up and we followed husband around his various postings.

My parents were very upset that I chose domestic bliss over a career path. After all, I was the first one in the family to break many moulds. They had wished that I would be attending board meetings rather than PTMs.

Well, that was how the cookie crumbled.

Soon time flew and my fledgling was ready to soar and the world was his stage. As he toiled for various exams, I would often give him company. I had nothing much to do really as I was down with a major physically debilitating disease. Then death decided to strike the family with all it’s attendant vulgarities. Everything was crumbling.

My parents became pillars of strength for me

To kill time and to retain sanity, I started writing snippets, contributing to various online forums. Once I discovered the aphrodisiac  power of likes, I  moved on to write short stories and found some success there.

Now, I dabble across platforms and wear many hats. I earn my monies teaching children. I have been part of three published anthologies. I’m at a happy station.

What tomorrow holds ?? I don’t know.

I wish to enjoy today, to the fullest.

Plusses? Children are sorted, confident individuals and we are thick as thieves.

This is not to say that the children of those mothers who have chosen a thriving career, aren’t. In fact many are super stars!

It is just that I have no regrets that I have chosen this path and it has somehow panned out OK.

Ultimately it is each person’s call as every journey is so different. The needs and wants of every family is varied. There is no one shoe size that fits all.

A Indira Nooyi ( who again carries her own baggage of motherly disapproval, but that is another story) and a Sheryl Sandberg are phenomenal examples.

Make a choice and never regret it. Walk ten feet tall as it is all about your life and your choices.

When you choose to close one door, other one always opens. On hind sight it could be even better

Keep smiling, shining and soaring

Leave a Reply

