The Big Rant Ahoy !

 

If someone off chance were to ask me, “How is it going?” My typical answer would be ..
“Haa! Like for today, while Hmmm_hubby and children(?) are still in snooze land, I am already up. I though, took the liberty of waking up at eight. Now dont say it’s too late!! I managed to see the Sun na!
I made a cup of coffee, sorted the laundry, called veggies guy for a home delivery, quick-glanced the weekend glossies(same old same old). Prodigal son has returned for few hours demanding the slaughter of the fat fat cow ( is it kosher any more?).
So pots and pans are going to be my best friends for a good couple of hours.
Oh Wait, I have to take 2 classes while Sambar simmers on the stove.
Daughter has upped the ante seizing the moment. So her list has to be catered.
Oh dear, I have to call my mom too. But she always understands. So that call can wait.Then I hope to catch my fave flick on telly, in the evening.
Hmmm lemme arrange for dinner before that. Some snacks and colas for munching. Oh hell, I have to submit a story like yesterday and that blog !! Oopsie. Now the existential dilemma! Will the maid arrive? When she does and if she does.. I will have to give her malai chai.
I have to youngify self too. Too many white strands peeping out. Chalo kaun dekhne waala hai. We are like this only. Forget this daily drama, lemme Facebook to calm myself…
Putting all this humdrum to verse will it make it worse?”
And it goes on and on..
By the time my big rant finishes, the poor soul, hoping to disappear into thin air, would be cursing that very moment, when she /he decided to do small talk …
Being brave doesn’t work!
Parenting no doubt is an overwhelmingly daunting project. The trouble starts when we let it get under our skin.
Parenting is a daily project. Sometimes everything is sorted and somedays everything seems to fall apart.
The children, the wonderful glue of a happy family, will somehow always manage to rise the occasion whenever the situation demands. Most often, they understand what is expected of them and flower beautifully.
When the going gets tough, don’t lose hope as yet. Just have the faith and invest in your children your time and your total and complete love.
The returns are the incomparable bone crushing hugs and saliva dripping smoochies.
Now that’s a fantastic trade-off worth all the effort
Leave a Reply

